The difference between….

1. Bring and Take

Bring – carry something toward yourself  – หยิบสิ่งของเข้าหาตัวเอง

    e.g. When you come to my house, please bring a bottle of wine.

Take – carry something away from yourself – หยิบสิ่งของออกจากตัว

    e.g. When we go to his house, let’s take a bottle of wine.
 

2. Affect and Effect Affect ทำหน้าที่ เป็น Verb แต่ Effect ทำหน้าที่เป็น Noun

3. Further and Farther 

Furtherห่างไกลออกไป ในแง่ของความรู้สึก (Mental distance) 

e.g. you have to read further in the textbook 

Fartherห่างไกลออกไป ในแง่ของระยะทาง (physical distance) 

e.g. I have to drive farther to work than to school

4. Less and Fewer 

Less ใช้กับ นามนับไม่ได้ (Uncountable noun)
Fewer ใช้กับ นามนับได้ (Countable noun) 

e.g. I think I have 5 CDs or fewer       
      
I think you should eat less meat

5. Lie and Lay 

Lie :   Lie   Lay   Lain        แปลว่า นอน

Lay:   Lay  Laid   Laid       แปลว่า วางลง   Lay ตัวนี้ต้องการกรรม มาตามหลัง 

e.g.    I lie on the bed when I watch TV.         

         I lay my key on the table when I come home

 

Leave a Reply

